A year of reading the world

The tiny Kingdom of Swaziland doesn’t sound too promising when you’re on the hunt for world literature. According to the CIA World Factbook, it has the globe’s lowest life expectancy, with those born in 2011 only predicted to live an average of 31.88 years – just a year older than I am now.

Given such a bleak backdrop, I assumed any story I did find would be pretty solemn. So when The Modern Novel recommended Sarah Mkhonza’s self-published memoir Weeding the Flowerbeds, I was in for a surprise.

Recalling Mkhonza’s time boarding at Manzini Nazarene High School in the seventies, the book reflects on life in southern Africa in the years after Swaziland declared independence from British rule. With Apartheid and racism enshrined in the statutes of all the region’s nations, there is much for young girls Bulelo (Mkhonza), Sisile and Makhosi to struggle against, but there is also…

View original post 560 more words

About husysweet

I am a Muslim lady.I lurve reading and writing.I love manga and anime.My favourite anime in the world is Kishimoto Masashi's Naruto.I love Bleach too.I am a twin.I like glancing through newspapers and feeling drizzling rain on my eyelashes.I believe in One God who created the universe because if we had more than One God, they will keep fighting about the colour of the sky.I think too much.I am a Nigerian woman and sometimes it is hard to be a woman because you are taken for granted.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

